Officers & Directors

The Wisconsin Hereford Association is divided into 4 district — NW, NE, SW, and SE. The dividing line from south to north is Hwy 39/51. The dividing line from west to east is I-90 to 16, 60.

2022 Board

President: Rick Starck
7501 280th St
Cadott, WI 54727
Vice President: Fred Larson
N8494 110th Street
Spring Valley, WI 54767
Secretary: Lisa Davis
P.O. Box 232.
Plain, WI 53577
Treasurer: Melissa Berggren
506 S Hubbard Street
Horicon, WI 53032

Front row, left to right: Lisa Davis (Secretary), Melissa Berggren (Treasurer), Rick Starck (President), Fred Larson (Vice President), Loxi Smythe (Director).
Back Row, left to right: Shawn Prodell (Director); Jim Wiechert (Director), Jim Renn (Director), B.J. Jones (Director), Doug Schulz (Director), Steve Folkman (Director), Jamie Kent (Director)
Not Pictured: Zeb Allen (Director), Jackie Bevan (Director)

2022 Board of Directors

The Wisconsin Hereford Association is divided into 4 districts – NW, NE, SW, and SE. The dividing line form South to North is Hwy 39/51. The dividing line from West to East is I-90 to 16, 60.


Loxi Smythe
E5054 490th Ave.
Menomonie, WI 54751


James Wiechert
N9508 Pleasant Hill Road
Iola, WI 54945
Douglas Schulz
W3472 Wildcat Rd.
Iron Ridge, WI 53035
Shawn Prodell
N7145 Pleasant Rd
Algoma, WI 54201


Jim Renn
4207 Campbell Trace
Hartland, WI 53029
Jamie Kent
9961 North Five Corners Road
Winslow, IL 61089
Steve Folkman
N250 Highview Rd
Ixonia, WI 53036


Zeb Allen
E5342 Sand Hill Road
Reedsburg, WI 53959
Jaclyn Bevan
1681 Austin Road
Platteville, WI 53818
Dr. BJ Jones
14990 Cty Rd F
Darlington, WI 53530

2022 Committees

Executive Committee: Rick Starck, President, Fred Larson, Vice President, Lisa Davis, Secretary, Melissa Berggren, Treasurer

Finance Committee/Audit/By Laws/ Hall of Fame: Jim Renn, Chair, B J Jones, Jamie Kent. In charge of assisting Melissa in carrying out financial functions and financial concerns.

Communications Committee: Fred Larson, Chair, Loxi Symthe, Jacki Bevan (ZOOM/Facebook) Janet Wiechert (Website). Handles Facebook, ZOOM meeting coordinator, WHA website, association mailings, and other necessary communications.

Advertising/Promotions: Loxi Smythe, Chair, Doug Schultz, Jerry Huth, Rick Starck. Promoting the WHA, explore advertising options, develop press releases to media outlets. Arrange and coordinate WHA show events such as the WPS Farm Show, Farm Technology Days, WCA Conference and developing relationships with the UW Extension and local and regional farms shows.

State Sale & Banquet: Melissa Berggren, Chair, Chuck Badertscher, Loxi Smythe, Jackie Bevan. Shawn Prodell Arrange and coordinate for 2023’s WHA State Sale.

WJHA Liaison: BJ Jones, Chair, Jackie Bevan, Jim Renn. Coordinate between the WHA and WJHA and work together in promoting Wisconsin Herefords.

State Fair Liaison: Doug Schultz, Chair, Kermit Rhiner. BJ Jones, Shawn Prodell Coordinate between state fair and WHA/WJHA the happenings at the state Wisconsin State Fair and Jackpot Steer Show.

Feeder Calf Sale Opportunities: Zeb Allen, Chair, Jerry Huth. Explore marketing options for Wisconsin Hereford based feeder calves.

Queen Program: Jackie Bevan, Chair, Jim Renn, Nicky Folkman. Work an funding the present program, continue building the endowment, and analyze the structure and opportunities for the program.

World Beed Expo: Jamie Kent, Chair, Jim Renn. Keep the WHA informed on the happenings of the WBE.

WCA Liaison: Zeb Allen, Chair, Jerry Huth. Contacts between the WHA and Wisconsin Cattle’s Association.

Review/Directory committee: Steve Folkman, Chair, Jim Wiechert, Chuck Baderscher. This committee is in charge of the WHA Review developing advertiser relationships, explore advertising possibilities, and develop the 2023-2024 WHA Directory.

County Youth Awards: Jim Wiechert, Chair,Diana Wichert, Janet Wiechert. Continue the awards program as set by the WHA Board.

Tour: Southeast district: (Directors of southeast district) Steve Folkman & Jim Renn.

Support Your Herd's Success.
In the Cowherd. In the Showring. In the Feedlot.